Prof Dr Erdal CAYIRCI
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department
University of Stavanger
Stavanger, Norway
Erdal Cayirci graduated from Army Academy in 1986 and from Royal Military Academy, Sandhurst in 1989. He received his MS degree from Middle East Technical University, and a PhD from Bogazici University both in computer engineering in 1995 and 2000, respectively. He retired from the Army when he was a colonel in 2005. He was an Associate Professor at Istanbul Technical University, Yeditepe University and Naval Sciences and Engineering Institute between 2001 and 2005.  Also in 2001, he was a visiting researcher for the Broadband and Wireless Networking Laboratory and a visiting lecturer at the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology. He founded Genetlab in 2005. He is currently Head, CAX Support Branch in NATO's Joint Warfare Center in Stavanger, Norway, and also a professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department of University of Stavanger. His research interests include sensor networks, mobile communications, tactical communications, and military constructive simulation.

Professor Cayirci has acted as an editor of the journals IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, AdHoc Networks (Elsevier Science) and ACM/Kluwer Wireless Networks, and has guest edited four special issues of Computer Networks (Elsevier Science), AdHoc Networks (Elsevier Science) and Kluwer Journal on Special Topics in Mobile Networking and Applications (MONET).

He received the "2002 IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper" Award for his paper titled "A Survey on Sensor Networks" published in the IEEE Communications Magazine in August 2002, the "Fikri Gayret" Award from Turkish Chief of General Staff in 2003, the "Innovation of the Year" Award from Turkish Navy in 2005 and the "Excellence" Award in ITEC 2006.

He co-authored two books titled "Security in Wireless Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks," and "Computer Assisted Exercises and Training: A Reference Guide" both published by John Wiley & Sons in 2009.
Updated on April 22, 2009.